A follow up on Lover of Hokuto’s last post and a general update

Sanzoku Densetsu (Avatar)Hey everyone. Well as you can already see, in contrast to how we started off this year things are now looking quite dull for us. It has become apparent that Wickio has decided to indefinitely stop working and communicating with the rest of the team for suspected personal reasons. Understandably, Lover of Hokuto has become increasingly frustrated, and after much discussion with myself, has decided to part ways with the group. As you can read in his last post, he will be continuing to pursue Souten no Ken through his own means, so please give him as much support as you can. I wish him the best of luck.

As I’m guessing some of you may know, and many may not, I am currently right in the middle of my final year at high school. In Australia, you’re final score that you will need to get into a university is not actually determined by how well you personally do, but rather how well you do in comparison to every other student in the state. In short, if I want to get into the university course that I’m aiming for, I need to work damn well hard. At the start of the year I was well aware of what pressure I’d be under as well, however I agreed to launch back into Sentosha the way we did under the condition that I would play a very minimal role until November when my final exams are over, and that Wickio would take care of most things apart from some administrative work. You can now see why everything just seemed to stop as soon as Wickio disappeared. I’m now stuck with leading the team by myself when I’m really in no position to do so. Because of this, although I’m not making this official yet, I’m thinking of putting Sentosha on hiatus until further notice.

There is one thing though, and that is that I only have very minimal experience with actual fansubbing.  I’m not sure if anyone’s familiar with my past ventures, but in reality I’m more a scanlator than a fansubber. I generally prefer the scanlation medium over fansubbing as well, and it is because of these things that I don’t actually see much point in trying to relaunch and run a fansub team on my own. If Wickio decides to come back then I’m totally up for it, but if not I’m thinking of relaunching Sentosha as a scanlation team once I’ve finished school instead. It’s really his call though.

Now, I know the burning question that’s in each of your minds… What about SJG vol. 5?? Well I can assure you that it will be released, even if we do decide to close the team down. I’ve spoken with Might Gaine from PDSG and he’s agreed to finish it off. I’d love to give you an estimate of when it will be done, but I’m really uncertain myself. I know you must all hate this word by now, but I’m afraid “soon” will just have to suffice. As soon as I can find the time, I’m going to catch up with Might Gaine about it further.

So that’s basically it. Depending on what transpires over the following few weeks I’ll make another update concerning the official status of the team. Thank you all for your patience.

SanDen

 

8 Responses to A follow up on Lover of Hokuto’s last post and a general update

  1. loverofhokuto says:

    Thanks for your kind words SanDen 🙂
    You were the only person who really kept this site afloat during its many turbulent times, but even you couldn’t stop this train wreck. I wish you all the best on your exams and your future scan site, and I hope you branch out on your own rather than staying with an unreliable person. Who knows, maybe we will work together some day again 😉

  2. Bishca says:

    SanDen, I ABSOLUTELY know how you feel, because I’m in EXACTLY the same situation as you are, year 12 Australian, studying hard for my mid years so you have my utmost empathy and as such i put NO pressure on you whatsoever what are you aiming for? and for that matter where are you? Victoria, NSW, SA, WA, Queensland…… Tasmania? or day I ask, Northen Territory or ACT? anyway good luck with your studies, but not too good, after all I need all the chances I can get!

  3. sanzokudensetsu says:

    I’m in Victoria, doing what I hear is one of the toughest certificates out there, VCE. How about you? I’m aiming for an ENTER (not sure what it’s called elsewhere) in the high 80s. Anyway, good luck to you too 🙂

  4. Bishca says:

    yeah me too VCE, except I need mid to high 90s, cause I’m looking to do Medicine at Monash Uni

  5. sanzokudensetsu says:

    Shit, you’ve got some work cut out for you :). I’d tell you what I’m looking to do except but I’m not sure if I want it published on the internet and all… Good luck with that though!
    Also, it’s nice to see that SJG has some kind of following in Melbourne!

  6. Marcelo says:

    [TVA] Shonan Junai-gumi! (OVA1-5) VHS-RAW+
    http://www.nyaatorrents.org/?page=torrentinfo&tid=7911

  7. Arara says:

    Good luck on your exams!
    I’ve been thru the final college exams and university entry age, and I hope you get what you’re aiming for!
    And I can’t wait to put my hands on SJG 5 🙂

  8. Kitto says:

    Thanks for all ur hard work…sorry to hear about all the problems you’ve had, but still I can’t wait for SJG 5. ^___^ Take ur time, I’ll be waiting xDD

Leave a Reply

